I Just Finished Reading…

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Every once in a while, I come across something that’s so unique and interesting as to remind me that not every story has been told. There is still originality left to be discovered. This is why I love YA. Because it still embraces the fantastical, because its main characters are still innocent, but flawed enough for us to like them, because YA fantasy plots start small and then explode in fantastical and strange fits of whimsy and then loop back into themselves absorbing their own initially small plots to leave readers with a sparkle of enjoyment in their eyes.

I’m not a fan of plot summaries, as I think if you could really express the plot aptly, the author would have done so instead of writing the book, so I’ll spare you. But this book had levitating 80-year-old children caught in time warps, a big haunted-y house no one knows about anymore, a terrible secret danger you’d never be able to guess at and an endearing, scared kid who’s just like any other kid…except. All of this was set amongst real, collector’s photographs of peculiar children and strange, haunting scenes. This was unforgettable.

Posted on January 16, 2012, in book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thanks for reminding me about this read–it’s been hovering on my TBR for a while, and now it’s quickly moving to the top of the list! Thanks!

  2. I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while. I’m on the waiting list at my local library. From your review I guess it’s worth the wait. Thanks.

  3. Plus, best book trailer ever and best trailer-about-a-book-trailer ever. The links are too long to post here, but go to youtube and search “Miss Peregrine book trailer” and it’s the top two links.

    So many book trailers are dull. This is the only one I’ve seen that made me want to read the book.

  4. The cover and title are a real attention grabber. The plot sounds really different as well. Definitely worth a look.

  5. Very enticing. I’m putting this high on my TBR list. Thanks, Lauren! :)

  6. The cover looks really spooky. I’ll put this on my to-read list thanks!

Got something to say?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,278 other followers

