One Author’s Journey…

 

*waves* Big thanks to Lauren for letting me stop by today! I thought I would share a little about me before we get to chitchatting!

I’m Stacey Kennedy. I write urban fantasy/paranormal and erotic romance. I’m published with quite a few epublishers and have two new releases coming out this year with Ellora’s Cave and Loose Id.

I started writing as an escape from dirty diapers and screaming kids. As a stay at home mom—which all moms I’m sure will agree with me—it became a necessity to be creative and keep my brain active. What better way to do that then get lost in another world for a little while.

Originally, I had tried to go the agent route but rejection after rejection told me something was amiss. Clearly, right?! Now looking back, I can see I was in no way ready to submit to agents and had a lot to learn. Luckily, for me, an editor at an epublisher saw potential in my story and took me under her wing. From there, I wrote and wrote…and wrote some more. I submitted to different epublishers to work with new editors to learn as much as I could. I soaked up all the knowledge they had to offer and over the year I have been published, my writing improved and I owe all my editors a huge thank you for that.

After about eighteen ebook releases—some novellas—I had written an urban fantasy romance that I submitted to a few epublishers, only to get the “BIG R”. Bummer! Yes, I pouted, cursed and would not dare look at the story. I let it sit on my hard drive for a good four months until I got over the rejections, and then decided I needed to do something with it.

That story introduced me to self-publishing. I did a lot of research, talked to other self-published authors, made connections to find an editor, cover artist, etc. Then I went for it and uploaded my book to online stores. To my utter shock, the story went straight to Amazon Kindle’s bestseller list and stayed there. By far this is my bestselling book so this tells you that just because your story is rejected doesn’t mean there is no potential there.

Lastly, just this past week I signed with the lovely agent, Lauren Ruth to start another journey in my writing career. To say that I’m excited would be a huge understatement. I’m thrilled and eager for see what the future holds for team, “Lauren and Stacey”!

So where am I going with this all?

Whatever choice you want to make for your career is your choice. No matter what you’ve heard—and we’ve all heard many opinions—there is no “right” path to take in publishing.  I have done nearly all of them, epublished, self-published and now I have an agent. All three I have loved for different reasons and plan to continue using these methods of publishing.

If you want to have an agent represent you, go for it. You want to self-publish, go for it! You want to epublish, go for it! If one doesn’t work out for you, write another story and try something else. That’s what is so fantastic about the publishing world, we as authors have so many options.

Personally, I think as long as you are doing what you love and capture that in a story then readers will take notice. At the end of the day it’s not really about how you get your books into the hands of readers, it’s only that they read the story you’ve slaved over and is your baby.

I’d love to hear from you all, what method of publishing have you used or what’s your “dream” publisher?

 

Stacey Kennedy blogs here and maintains a website here.

 

Posted on August 1, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be just what
    I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for you?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write regarding here.
    Again, awesome web site!

  2. But it won’t do anyone any good unless you can attract readers to
    your articles. Tired of sounding like everyone else and want something new and fresh.
    You should know which blogs or websites to pick that would be effective in displaying your advertisements.

  3. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from
    a different web address and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to checking out your web page repeatedly.

  4. Hi Stacy,
    I love your story. But I do have concerns. I took care of my father in law and kept journals. When he passed away I decided to put my journals into a book to help others. This was very new to me, so I got the Writers Guide and made queries and sent out at least one hundred. A year later I got a phone call from a publisher who asked me if my book had been published yet. My heart started jumping in my chest. I completely forgot what I had done. So I signed a contract, paid him some money, we edited it together and a year later my book came out. Being naive, I thought I had to pay because I was a first time writer, little did I know this was a self publishing. I watched Amazon every time a book was sold. First year I actually got royality checks. Not big ones but I got excited to see someone actually bought my book and I was helping a family with this disease. The next three years I have not received any checks. I do watch Amazon and I am slowly selling them. This experience got me into writing stories. And I have written a couple and tried to find an agent but I also get the big rejections. I would like to selp publish but what if that agency does what my first one is doing and I don’t get any royalites again to help put back the money I paid to publish? I guess my question is how does a person know who to trust? Of course like you, we all want the fairy tale and I am so happy you found someone to take you on. Good luck with your career. I hope we can see you soon as the new Nicholas Sparks or Stephany Meyers.
    Sincerely,
    Marie Fostino 🙂

  5. Stacey- thanks for sharing your story. Like so many others, I’ve been flirting with the idea of self-publishing in eformat, but hesitate bc I’m not sure if I’m not finding representation bc of a problem with the book or just haven’t found the right agent. More food for thought…
    I’m glad it’s working out for you!

  6. Beautiful story how you e-book became a best seller on Amazon Kindle. Good luck to you and your agent with your next book.

  7. Good luck!!

    I’ve been querying a lot and keep getting rejections so I’ve been flirting around with going the epublish route.

  8. Thanks, Stacey! Best of luck!

  9. Okay. Now I’m jealous.

  10. Stacey Kennedy

    Keep at Annie! Just takes one “yes”! 😉

  11. Thank you Stacey (and Lauren) for the post! It’s inspiring and encouraging for someone like me who is “working” on her stories, dealing with rejections, rewrites and edits.
    I am very happy for you Stacey!
    Annie Q.

  12. Stacey Kennedy

    Thanks ladies!! Good luck with your journey!! 😉

  13. Thanks for the great post Stacey (and Lauren!). As a fellow Canadian author and one who would like to *eventually* get an agent, (Like you I have far too much to learn before I take that step) it is for-sure a help to listen to other’s stories of success.

    Congratulations on everything sweetie, you’ve worked hard and you deserve it.

    xx
    A.

  14. Great post! Thank you for the encouraging words.